I swear I buy a new pack of cotton rounds every month: taking off makeup, applying toner, you get the drill — at $3-4 a pack it can get pretty expensive. Not to mention cotton rounds always disintegrate when I’m using them, leaving me with silly little cotton buds all over my face and in my hair.

That being said, on my quest to an all-natural skincare, I thought there has to be a more natural option that is also more wallet friendly.

Hopping onto the world wide web, I was able to find a bunch of etsy accounts selling reusable cotton rounds, squares, etc. (I give major kudos to all those crafty peeps, I wish I was blessed with more patience.)

So many adorable patterns and colors, the only thing that wasn’t really pushing me to whip out my card and buy it was 1. the price and 2. the threading on the edges to keep the fabric together (which can irritate the skin if you accidentally swipe to hard).

As I get older, I always tell myself, “hey I can make that for WAY less”.

I personally don’t need a double sided pad so I did without making two sides (you can do so if you please, that’ll take a bit more time).

Here’s what you need:

  • Scissors (pinking, if you’re fancy)
  • A pencil
  • Cotton Flannel (remnants, quarters, old sheets, etc.) – $8 from Joann Fabric Store              *TIP: Look for coupons online, there is almost ALWAYS coupons for Joann
  • A lingerie bag (for washing the little guys) – $2-6 depending where you buy it                           *TIP: Check your local dollar store, I went to Diaso & they had several options for only $1.50
  • 10 minutes of your valuable time

IMG_4389

Here’s how you do it:

  1. Using a pencil, measure out a good size for your squares onto a firm cardboard – I used cardboard that came with my fabric pack.                                                                                             *TIP: Making square cotton pads are more cost effective because fabric is usually square so making rounds would leave you with excess fabric. Don’t waste!
  2. Once you decide the size (I used 2.5″ x 2.5″ squares), cut the cardboard in half and then using one of the halves, cut a fourth.
  3. Fold the full length 5″ x 5″ square over the half piece of cardboard to form a rectangle and cut along the folded edge.
  4. Then using this rectangle, fold over the fourth piece of cardboard to form a square -by cutting along the folded edge –see the photo above if you’re having a hard time following.
  5. Stick those little cuties into a lingerie bag (to keep them from getting lost in the wash), toss them in the wash before using for the first time, dry, and YOU’RE DONE!

*NOTE: these should not be used to remove nail polish, it is incredibly difficult to remove nail polish from fabric & you shouldn’t be washing acetone with your clothing to ensure a safe wash*

Not only was I able to make 120 cotton pads which will last me 60 days using two a day, but it cost me a less than $10 ($4 for the flannel pack & $1.50 for the lingerie bag) and took me no longer than 10 minutes to make.

These should last a good couple of months until you feel like you need to make a new set.

It’s easy and cheap! I highly encourage making your own cotton pads!

 

**Disclaimer: All photos are my own. I am not getting paid to say anything about these products, I purchased them all out of my own pocket.**

Leave a Reply

